Brunch

Poached to Perfection

SEVEN SEEDS:

Tucked away in a little area on Berkeley Street in Carlton, we had a quick stop over here after one of my lectures at uni 🙂 Only about one minute walk from the commerce buildings for those looking for a quick break from uni.

One of my first brunch experiences in Melbourne and needless to say, one of the best. We ordered 3 eggs benedicts and it was amazing. When the waiter brought the plates over, I was quite surprised at how small the portion looked (pics below) but mannn I was thinking the completely opposite thing when I left. For a reasonable $17, the dish left me feeling super full and very happy to be so! I’m not a big fan of runny yolk.. I know I’m weird, all of my friends seem to enjoy runny yolk eggs… but this eggs here have made me into a runny-yolk-fan!

The eggs were poached to perfection, in a cute circular shape placed decadently on top of the waffle with bacon in between. The hollandaise sauce on top complemented the rest of the dish extremely well, providing a flavoursome punch that wasn’t too salty to balance the bacon and the fluidity of the eggs. Garnished with spring onion and micro-purple basil, the blend of colours from the waffle, and the white, green, yellow and purple of the toppings made this dish visually striking.

img_2417

I was super scared to cut open the eggs and ruin the perfectly placed elements! But as soon as I broke through the egg white, the runny yolk flowed over the rest of the dish. Overall, the tanginess of the hollandaise sauce, earthly eggs and savouriness of the bacon with the chewy waffle underneath is pleasure to the palette.

I prefer large spacious dining areas and the space is quite limited, but most brunch places are. The colours inside are quite earthly, giving it a homely vibe. The decor inside is quite unique and hippy with a bicycle dangling from the ceiling. Service is pretty average and took a while to wait for the dish despite being on a week day lunch time.

Overall rating: 8.5/10

Seven Seeds Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

One thought on “Poached to Perfection

Leave a Reply

